Open Season

KT signKingdom Trails opened for the summer season yesterday.  Finally!  Fat bike riding this winter has kept my craving for single-track down to a bearable level but never eliminates it entirely.  The intervening time from my last snow ride and now has been spent on dirt roads and dragging through some muddy class-4 roads.  Nice filler but not nearly as fun.

I was hoping we might get an early start on things, like last year, since the weather has been unusually nice for the past several days.  I’m quite sure that the trails have been dry enough to ride for a little while now and I’ve been showing incredible self-restraint by not engaging in any pre-season “poaching.”  I guess that’s one of the things that come with maturity and my attempts at creating the illusion of being responsible.

Anyway, it was a nice, warm day and I was able to get out a little earlier in the afternoon than I had originally planned.  The trails are about as dry as you’d expect to see in the middle of the summer.  I had to stop occasionally to deal with the usual assortment of adjustments to the bike that I didn’t bother making after my last ride in the fall.  I didn’t take any pictures since I was riding solo and more interested in pedaling than photography.  I did manage to bring my GPS so here’s my mediocre Strava data for the ride.

One thought on “Open Season

Leave a Reply

