Race Bike

Over the past few months, I’ve been spending money like a kid in a candy store with a pocket full of change.  It’s not that bad, but I’ve been scouring the web for sales and closeouts for the few parts I did need.  Once the wheels were finished, I was able to start putting the rest of the bike together. This post is mostly photos since I’ve had requests for pictures of the bike.

Completed JabberwockyI started by installing the headset on the bike…

Installing the headsetThe headset cups went in surprisingly well.

Installed headsetI’d post some photos showing how I put the lower race on the fork, but it’s not for those with a weak stomach.  All I will say is that someday I should get the appropriate tools for the jobs I do.  It all worked out well: the race is properly installed and the fork does not appear to be structurally compromised.

Cutting the steerer tubeThe rest of the fork installation went well.  No problems getting the length right.  There’s nothing worse than cutting the fork steerer too short.

Front-end completed (mostly)Next was to install the bottom bracket and cranks…

cranks

The remainder of the process was dealing with little details like cutting the chain, adjusting the brakes, and other miscellaneous tweaks.

Jabberwocky finishedThe bike weighs somewhere around 24lbs.  It’s hard to say exactly, because all I have is a cheap bathroom scale to weigh it with.  I hope the scale is wrong because, if it isn’t, I’ve gained too much weight this winter…but that’s another subject.

I know what you're thinking.  Yes, that is a Control Tech titanium skewer on the front axle.  It may be an unfair advantage but I needed it.

8 thoughts on “Race Bike

    1. I thought about that. I was going to go will all silver components when I got the headset. I got the bars and cranks on clearance so I didn’t have any options besides black. Maybe I should have gone with green?

  1. Pingback: Off-Season Training Part 2 « Single-Speed Slogging

  2. Pingback: Millstone Trails « Single-Speed Slogging

  3. Pingback: Flower (No) Power « Single-Speed Slogging

  4. Pingback: Jabberwocky Review « Single-Speed Slogging

  5. Pingback: Hello? Hello…. « Single-Speed Slogging

Leave a Reply

