Basic Black

Thanks to the slipping, sliding vertical dropouts on my Rig, I decided that I didn’t want to wrestle with perpetually loose chains on that bike another year.  Sometime after  Thanksgiving I snagged a Vassago Jabberwocky frame while they were having their extended “Black Friday” sale.

Jabberwocky

The frame comes in either black or “mojave”, which is a nice way of saying “puke yellow.”  I opted for the black paint job.  Everything on this bike is black: the rims, spokes, hubs, cranks, pedals, seatpost, seat, brake levers, stem, bars, grips… everything!  The only thing that isn’t black are the tires because they’re permanently stained with the epoxy-like, grey mud that I acquired at the Cold Crank Challenge last month.   Black isn’t a bad color for a bike but it does make the slightest amount of dirt stand out and the bike will always look dirty as a result.  Maybe I should have gone with the mojave.

Jabberwocky Font EndThe bike is mostly made up of parts that I transferred from my old Rig.  The only exception to this is the fork.  This fall I won a Kona P2 29er fork at  Treasure Valley Rally.  I’m going to try going back to a rigid ride for a while.  I generally prefer the handling of  a non-squishy front-end, and I’m hoping that the bigger tires on the 29er will smooth things out enough for my wrists.  I am keeping the Fox fork from the Rig just in case I want to go back to it.

I started installing the headset a few evenings back.  Once I got started, I kept going until I had it just about completely put together.  It was unbelievable how quickly I was able to assemble the bike.  One of the nice things about a single-speed bike is that there’s very little to mess with.

The bike is just about complete as it is with only one exception:  I would like to replace the front tire with a big fat piece of rubber.  Right now I’m leaning towards the Maxxis Ardent or Schwalbe’s Racing Ralph, both of which come in a 2.4 inch width.  Beyond that, I don’t see a lot that I want change.  My goal is to have this bike set up so that it will only need normal maintenance…chain wear, brake shoes, etc.  I still want to lace up the rear wheel with new spokes, but that was in the plans already.

If the ground wasn’t covered in snow and ice right now, I’d give it a thorough testing.  I’m really itching to take it for a ride.  I’ve been doing laps around the basement on it, but that’s not quite the same.

I still have quite a few components hanging around in my collection of parts.  Some of this stuff I know I have no use for; and I’ll be putting up on ebay, craigslist or just donating to get them out of my basement.   The real question that remains is: what do you do when you still have nearly enough left over parts around to build up a complete second bike??  More on that later.

7 thoughts on “Basic Black

    1. I’m working on getting things together for those hubs. Unless the weather gets really bad this weekend I’ll be making another Ninja trip over to Burlington. I need spokes.

  1. Real nice. Steel is so much better for the rigid. Not really sure how much a 100 mm travel fork actually helps? I run heavy tires and fat 28mm hoops. If you have 32 hole hubs pacenti is making a 28mm hoop now. Spread the tread and take some air out. Nothing. Corners like a low psi tire on a wide hoop. Oh yeah and ditch the tubes! Good for nothing! My cold crank mud has since come off but it took a while.

  2. Pingback: Winterbike 2012 « Single-Speed Slogging

  3. Pingback: Jabberwocky Review « Single-Speed Slogging

  4. Pingback: Hello? Hello…. « Single-Speed Slogging

  5. Pingback: Not Good | Single-Speed Slogging

Leave a Reply

