Wearing The Green Jersey

NEMBA_Racing Jersey

After the Cold Crank Challenge, I got into an email discussion with the folks on the NEMBA racing team.  Following a few exchanges I was asked if I would be interested in joining their team.  Since a lucrative corporate sponsorship hasn’t come through for me yet, I agreed.  It doesn’t hurt that I know a few members already and they seem like a pretty good group to hang out with.

For those who are not familiar with it, NEMBA stands for the New England Mountain Bike Association.  Their mission is “to promote mountain biking, build and care for public trails, and protect open space.”  They seem to have active chapters all over the New England states with the exception of Vermont, for whatever reason.  The racing team is one way they raise awareness about the organization.

I wasn’t going to post about this until after the new year but I discovered a couple of days ago that they had finished their Christmas shopping.  Since they made the announcement on their web page I figured I’d mention it here too.

So, NEMBA Racing has their token Vermonter now.  Next summer, you’ll see me racing in the green and yellow NEMBA jersey and possibly hanging out under the NEMBA tent.  I’ll post some photos of the actual jersey once I have it in my hands.  I’m looking forward to this coming season.

The NEMBA tents
The NEMBA tents. Photo by Greg Katz
4 thoughts on “Wearing The Green Jersey

  1. The SS class could be looking very Green next year. It is kind of strange that NEMBA doesn’t have much of a VT presence but that is mostly likely because you guys have your own VMBA.

    Glad to have you aboard! (but honestly how could you have said no? once the Bully sets his sights…)

    1. There should be 3 or 4 of us racing SS in green now, right? It should be fun. I never hear much about VMBA at all but that might be because Kingdom Trails is so active in this area.

      Shawn didn’t have to push very hard to convince me.

  2. Shawn

    Really cool! Getting things in order as we speak! Deals are great, but what’s better than stuff? racing with a bunch of pretty cool guys that share the same passion. Happy to welcome you to the team!

Leave a Reply

